Dairy-free choc icecream!

Our dietitian gave me a recipe for dairy-free icecream, but I’m still adjusting it – it was waaaaay too sweet for me.  However, I thought I’d add a bit of cocoa to the original recipe, hoping that the bitterness of cocoa would offset the oversweetness, and I now have a very happy family!

600ml rice milk

1/2 cup sugar

2 teaspoons rice bran oil

4 tablespoons water

30g dairy-free margarine (I used Nuttelex)

1/2 cup arrowroot (or tapioca, whichever I happen to have in my pantry at the time!)

2 tablespoons cocoa powder

Beat oil, water, sugar, margarine, arrowroot and cocoa in a bowl while heating the milk in a large saucepan.  When the milk reaches simmering point, pour in the mixture and continue to beat over the heat until mixture boils and thickens.  Remove from heat and cool a little, then pour into containers for freezing.

My notes:

I’ve written out the recipe as I make it, however dairy milk or another non-dairy milk replacement could be used instead of rice milk, and the oil could be replaced by same quantity of egg replacer, or another light, reasonably flavourless oil.  I like my chocolate really dark, so I loved the richness of 2T of cocoa, but my husband would have preferred less – so adjust to taste.  My mixture never really thickens much, so after a while on the boil, I just put it into pyrex ramekins to put in the freezer.  The reason I use small dishes is because I “shave” the icecream the next day so that it’s not so icy, and at that time, put it in a more appropriately-sized storage container.  (Like it needs storage – ha!!).  Enjoy :).

Leave a Reply

